Yes to Europe

Get into the fray: High-ranking EU official Martin Selmayr explains how Europeans can themselves help shape a better EU.

European Commission Head of Cabinet Martin Selmayr
European Commission Head of Cabinet Martin Selmayr Eric Herchaft/Reporters Agency

Mr Selmayr, every day you fight for the European Union as Head of Cabinet of European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker. Why is Europe in difficulties?

Europe should never be taken for granted. You only have to remind yourself of Europe’s history which has been painful so often. The peaceful unification of our continent is an unprecedented achievement of civilisation and the great blessing of the post-war generation. However, it always requires the political will of the member states which are the basis of our European Union and the democratic approval of the citizens. This approval can be undermined - especially when crises from outside hit Europe and weaken decision-makers in the national capitals.

How fragile is the commitment to Europe?

The financial crisis that began in the United States had considerable economic and social consequences and led to government crises and changes of government in several member states. War and terror in Syria and poverty in Africa triggered a movement of refugees towards Europe. The terror attacks by fighters of the so-called Islamic state in several major European cities shook the sense of security of many Europeans. In such crises many people expect Europe to respond as fast and as decisively as if it were a nation state. However Europe is not a state and has only limited competences.

Stop making “Brussels” responsible, decide for yourselves how to create a better Europe.

Martin Selmayr, Head of Cabinet of European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker

What solutions can you offer?

We have come a long way in recent years. For example, the financial crisis convinced member states of the need to create a common European banking supervision that can, stabilise and, if necessary, close banks. The refugee crisis has led to Europe now having a joint border and coast guard that can be deployed at all times. And Europe’s police and security authorities have also recently began to work together much more closely. One thing is clear: Europe will only gain the lasting approval of its citizens if it can provide effective answers to the economic, social, technological and security challenges of our time. At the European Commission – under the leadership of Jean-Claude Juncker –­ we are working day and night to achieve this.

How does the EU have to change to become attractive for young people?

What kind of Europe do people want? In spring 2017, on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome, Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker presented a White Paper which sets out five scenarios of how Europe could evolve by 2025. The scenarios range from “carry on as before” to “more Europe”. The scenarios explicitly include the possibility of a Europe that does less but leads to better results. Europeans and decision-makers in the member states are at the centre of this debate. The order of the day is: discuss, instead of dictate! Stop making “Brussels” responsible, and instead decide for yourselves how to create a better Europe. Europe can only succeed if it is not considered an occupying power, but the result of a free decision by its citizens.

What does Europe mean to you?

To me Europe is a very special community of values, of freedom, of peace and of justice. Europe stands for the rule of law, freedom of opinion, tolerance, pluralism and openness towards the rest of the world. Europe is a form of society that reconciles social responsibility with the market economy. The identity of Europe also involves constantly seeking dialogue and cooperation with one’s neighbours and the rest of the world. At a time in which the world is becoming more multipolar and more insecure, we Europeans must not retreat into our shells, but strengthen our cooperation.

The EU is at risk of breaking up after Brexit. What is at stake for the nearly 512 million EU citizens?

I was very saddened by the negative result of the Brexit referendum which was only very narrow. After all, I spent a year in London as an Erasmus student and know and value Great Britain and its people very highly. I would really not like to miss the British in the European Union, although I do of course respect the result of the referendum. To this very day, one can say that Brexit has not become a model for others to follow. On the contrary: since the Brexit referendum the other Europeans have moved closer together and are currently discussing new ways of strengthening the European project – be it when it comes to the defence union, foreign policy, taxation policy or energy policy. It appears as if sometimes only the experience of an imminent loss makes clear the value of the European project.

Interview: Sarah Kanning

Remark by the editors: At the time when we conducted the interview Martin Selmayr was EU Head of Cabinet, since 1 March 2018 he has been Secretary General of the EU Commission.

© www.deutschland.de

Ja zu Europa

Raus aus dem Schneckenhaus: Der hohe EU-Beamte Martin Selmayr erklärt, wie Europäer selbst eine bessere EU gestalten können.

EU-Kabinettchef Martin Selmayr
EU-Kabinettchef Martin Selmayr Eric Herchaft/Reporters Agency

Herr Selmayr, als Kabinettchef von EU-Kommissionspräsident Jean-Claude Juncker kämpfen Sie jeden Tag für die Europäische Union. Warum ist Europa in Bedrängnis?

Europa war noch nie eine Selbstverständlichkeit, dazu braucht man sich nur die oft leidvolle europäische Geschichte in Erinnerung zu rufen. Die friedliche Einigung unseres Kontinents ist eine einzigartige zivilisatorische Errungenschaft und das große Glück der Nachkriegsgenerationen. Sie bedarf jedoch stets des politischen Willens der Mitgliedstaaten und der demokratischen Zustimmung ihrer Bürger. Vor allem wenn Krisen von außen auf Europa einprasseln und die Entscheidungsträger in den nationalen Hauptstädten schwächen, kann diese Zustimmung in Gefahr geraten.

Wie fragil ist dieses „Ja“ zu Europa?

Die in den USA entstandene Finanzkrise hatte auf unserem Kontinent erhebliche wirtschaftliche und soziale Auswirkungen und führte in mehreren Mitgliedstaaten zu Regierungskrisen und Regierungswechseln. Krieg und Terror in Syrien und die Armut in Afrika lösten eine Flüchtlingsbewegung in Richtung Europa aus. Die Terroranschläge von Kämpfern des sogenannten Islamischen Staats in mehreren europäischen Metropolen haben das Sicherheitsgefühl vieler Europäer erschüttert. Viele Menschen erwarten in solchen Krisen, dass Europa so schnell und entschlossen reagiert, als ob es ein Staat wäre. Doch Europa ist kein Staat und hat nur begrenzte Befugnisse.

Schiebt nicht mehr die Verantwortung auf ,Brüssel', entscheidet selbst, wie ihr ein besseres Europa gestalten wollt.

Martin Selmayr, Kabinettchef von EU-Kommissionspräsident Jean-Claude Juncker

Welche Lösungen können Sie anbieten?

Wir sind in den vergangenen Jahren ein großes Stück vorangekommen. So hat die Finanzkrise die Mitgliedstaaten davon überzeugt, eine gemeinsame europäische Bankenaufsicht zu schaffen, die Banken überwachen, stabilisieren und notfalls schließen kann. Die Flüchtlingskrise hat dazu geführt, dass Europa jetzt über jederzeit einsatzfähige gemeinsame Grenz- und Küstenschützer verfügt. Auch Europas Polizei- und Sicherheitsbehörden arbeiten neuerdings sehr viel enger zusammen. Eines ist klar: Europa wird nur dann dauerhaft die Zustimmung der Bürger finden, wenn es auf die wirtschaftlichen, sozialen, technologischen und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit eine effiziente Antwort geben kann. Daran arbeiten wir in der Europäischen Kommission Tag und Nacht.

Wie müsste die EU sich verändern, um für junge Menschen attraktiv zu sein?

Welches Europa wünschen sich die Menschen? Zu dieser Frage hat Kommissionspräsident Jean-Claude Juncker im Frühjahr 2017 anlässlich des 60. Jahrestags der Römischen Verträge ein Weißbuch vorgelegt, welches in fünf Szenarien beschreibt, wie sich Europa bis 2025 entwickeln könnte. Die Szenarien reichen von einem „Weiter wie bisher“ bis hin zu „Mehr Europa“. Sie schließen aber ausdrücklich die Möglichkeit eines Europas ein, das weniger macht und dafür bessere Ergebnisse bringt. In der Diskussion stehen die Europäer und die Entscheidungsträger der Mitgliedstaaten im Mittelpunkt. Es heißt jetzt: Diskutieren statt diktieren! Schiebt nicht mehr die Verantwortung auf „Brüssel“, sondern entscheidet selbst, wie ihr ein besseres Europa gestalten wollt. Europa kann nur dann gelingen, wenn es nicht als Besatzungsmacht empfunden wird, sondern als das Ergebnis der freien Entscheidung der Bürger.

Was bedeutet für Sie Europa?

Europa ist für mich eine ganz besondere Gemeinschaft der Werte, der Freiheit, des Friedens und des Rechts. Europa bedeutet Rechtsstaat und Meinungsfreiheit, Toleranz, Pluralismus und Offenheit gegenüber der Welt. Europa ist ein Gesellschaftsmodell, das die soziale Verantwortung mit der Marktwirtschaft versöhnt. Zur Identität Europas gehört es auch, stets den Dialog und die Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Nachbarn und der übrigen Welt zu suchen. In Zeiten, in denen die Welt multipolarer und unsicherer wird, dürfen wir Europäer uns nicht ins Schneckenhaus zurückziehen, sondern müssen die Zusammenarbeit intensivieren.

Nach dem Brexit drohte auch ein Auseinanderbrechen der EU. Was steht auf dem Spiel für die knapp 512 Millionen EU-Bürger?

Ich war sehr traurig über den knappen negativen Ausgang des Brexit-Referendums, schließlich habe ich ein Jahr lang als Erasmus-Student in London studiert und kenne und schätze Großbritannien und seine Menschen ganz besonders. Ich möchte die Briten in der Europäischen Union wirklich nicht missen, auch wenn ich das Ergebnis des Referendums natürlich respektiere. Heute kann man immerhin sagen, dass der Brexit keine Nachahmer gefunden hat. Im Gegenteil: Seit dem Brexit-Referendum sind die übrigen Europäer enger zusammengerückt und diskutieren derzeit über neue Möglichkeiten zur Stärkung des europäischen Projekts – ob in Fragen der Verteidigungsunion, der Außenpolitik, der Steuerpolitik oder der Energiepolitik. Manchmal scheint erst die Erfahrung mit dem drohenden Verlust den Wert des europäischen Projekts vor Augen zu führen.

Interview: Sarah Kanning

Redaktionelle Ergänzung: Zum Zeitpunkt unseres Interviews war Martin Selmayr EU-Kabinettchef, seit 1. März 2018 ist er Generalsekretär der EU-Kommission.

© www.deutschland.de