In the midst of life

We introduce five new members of the German Federal Parliament (Bundestag) with unusual occupations.

Occupations of members of the Bundestag: Stephan Pilsinger (CSU) is a doctor.
Stephan Pilsinger (CSU) is a doctor. CSU

Germany. The Bundestag is supposed to be a mirror of society – made up of members with a wide range of life experience. Nevertheless, certain professions are represented particularly frequently: 115 of the 708 MPs are lawyers, for example. Teachers and university lecturers are also well represented with 26 members. We present five MPs with rather unusual occupations.

I would like to contribute my experience in health and nursing.

Stephan Pilsinger (30), CSU, doctor

"I've been involved in local politics for a long time, but always wanted to become a doctor. After graduating, I worked in an urban hospital for three years. Maybe in future I'll work part-time in a general practice to remain grounded in my profession. I would like to contribute my experience in health and nursing to politics."

“In politics I drop all the masks.”
 Michel Brandt (27), Die Linke (The Left), actor

“Giving up my great job hurts. I studied acting and I'm still involved at the Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe. But as an MP you can focus on issues in a totally different way. When I'm on stage, I play a role, but in politics I drop all the masks. I'm interested in cultural and educational policy, but also in issues of migration and human rights. I want to contribute to a strong opposition.”

Occupations of members of the Bundestag: Michel Brandt (The Left) is an actor
Michel Brandt (The Left) is an actor Die Linke

“Explaining Germany has taught me a lot.”
Claudia Müller (36), the Green Party (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), tour guide

“One of the jobs I've had was working as a tour guide. Explaining the interrelations between German and European history and politics to international guests has taught me a lot. When you decide to go into politics, you have to realize that it's a long, stony and often frustrating road. But it's worthwhile, because you gain a lot of experience and can change things.”

Occupations of members of the Bundestag: Claudia Müller (Green Party) is a tour guide
Claudia Müller (Green Party) is a tour guide Bündnis90/Grüne

“I regard the work as a parliamentarian as a great challenge.”
Jan Nolte (29), Alternative for Germany (AfD), soldier in the Federal Armed Forces (Bundeswehr)

“I've been a soldier in the Bundeswehr since 2008 – and it's an option for me to continue in this career. The Bundeswehr is apolitical, of course. But it has taught me patriotism, honesty, courage, camaraderie and loyalty. I regard the work of a parliamentarian as a great challenge. As a member of parliament I support, among other things, moderate immigration only into the labour market, and a social system that guarantees a decent pension.”

Occupations of members of the Bundestag: Jan Nolte (AfD) is a soldier with the Bundeswehr
Jan Nolte (AfD) is a soldier with the Bundeswehr AfD

Women are often disadvantaged in their work.

Josephine Ortleb (31), SPD, restaurant specialist

“In the Bundestag, I would like to take a stand for equal living conditions throughout Germany and a plannable future for young people. Equality between men and women is also an important concern for me. My line of business – I'm a restaurant specialist and have worked as a manager in my parents' restaurant – is mainly carried out by women. There and in many other areas I see how disadvantaged and relatively poorly paid they are. I feel well prepared for the work in the Bundestag. In catering, like in politics, you have a lot to do with people, and there are no fixed working hours.”

Occupations of members of the Bundestag: Josephine Ortleb (SPD) is a restaurant specialist
Josephine Ortleb (SPD) is a restaurant specialist SPD

Transcript writer: Nicole Sagener 

© www.deutschland.de

Mitten im Leben

Wir stellen fünf neue Bundestagsabgeordnete mit ungewöhnlichen Berufen vor.

Berufe der Bundestagsabgeordneten: Stephan Pilsinger (CSU) ist Arzt.
Stephan Pilsinger (CSU) ist Arzt. CSU

Deutschland. Der Bundestag soll ein Spiegel der Gesellschaft sein – mit Abgeordneten, die ganz unterschiedliche Lebenserfahrungen haben. Trotzdem sind bestimmte Berufe besonders stark vertreten: 115 der 708 Abgeordneten sind Juristen. Auch Lehrer und Hochschullehrer sind mit 26 Parlamentariern deutlich repräsentiert. Wir stellen fünf Abgeordnete mit eher ungewöhnlichen Berufen vor.

Ich möchte meine Erfahrungen mit Gesundheit und Pflege einbringen.

Stephan Pilsinger (30), CSU, Arzt

„Ich engagiere mich schon lange in der Kommunalpolitik, wollte aber immer Arzt werden. Nach dem Studium habe ich drei Jahre in einem städtischen Krankenhaus gearbeitet. Vielleicht werde ich künftig nebenbei in Teilzeit in einer Hausarztpraxis tätig sein, um im Beruf geerdet zu bleiben. Die Erfahrungen, die ich mit Gesundheit und Pflege gemacht habe, möchte ich gern in die Politik tragen.“

In der Politik lege ich jede Maske ab.
Michel Brandt (27), Die Linke, Schauspieler 

„Es tut weh, meinen tollen Job aufzugeben: Ich habe Schauspiel studiert und bin noch am Badischen Staatstheater Karlsruhe engagiert. Aber als Abgeordneter kann man auf ganz andere Art Themen setzen. Auf der Bühne spiele ich eine Rolle, aber in der Politik lege ich jede Maske ab. Mich reizen Kultur- und Bildungspolitik, aber auch die Themen Migration und Menschenrechte. Ich will zu einer starken Opposition beitragen.“

Berufe der Bundestagsabgeordneten: Michel Brandt (Die Linke) ist Schauspieler.
Michel Brandt (Die Linke) ist Schauspieler. Die Linke

Deutschland zu erklären, hat mich vieles gelehrt.
Claudia Müller (36), Bündnis90/Grüne, Reiseleiterin

„Ich habe früher unter anderem als Reiseleiterin gearbeitet. Internationalen Gästen die Zusammenhänge zwischen deutscher und europäischer Geschichte und Politik zu erklären, hat mich vieles gelehrt. Wenn man sich für den politischen Weg entscheidet, muss man einsehen, dass er weit, steinig und oft frustrierend ist. Aber es lohnt sich, weil man viele Erfahrungen sammeln und etwas verändern kann.“

Berufe der Bundestagsabgeordneten: Claudia Müller (Bündnis90/Grüne) ist Reiseleiterin.
Claudia Müller (Bündnis90/Grüne) ist Reiseleiterin. Bündnis90/Grüne

„Die Arbeit als Parlamentarier betrachte ich als große Herausforderung.“
Jan Nolte (29), AfD, Bundeswehrsoldat 

„Ich bin seit 2008 Soldat bei der Bundeswehr – und es ist für mich eine Option, diesen Beruf weiter auszuüben. Die Bundeswehr ist natürlich unpolitisch. Sie hat mich aber Patriotismus, Ehrlichkeit, Mut, Kameradschaft und Treue gelehrt. Die Arbeit als Parlamentarier betrachte ich als große Herausforderung. Als Abgeordneter setze ich mich unter anderem ein für maßvolle Zuwanderung nur in den Arbeitsmarkt und für ein Sozialsystem, das eine anständige Rente gewährleistet.“

Berufe der Bundestagsabgeordneten: Jan Nolte (AfD) ist Soldat bei der Bundeswehr.
Jan Nolte (AfD) ist Soldat bei der Bundeswehr. AfD

Frauen sind im Job oft benachteiligt.

Josephine Ortleb (31), SPD, Restaurantfachfrau

„Ich möchte mich im Bundestag für gleiche Lebensverhältnisse in ganz Deutschland und eine planbare Zukunft für junge Menschen einsetzen. Auch die Gleichstellung von Männern und Frauen ist mir ein wichtiges Anliegen. Meine Branche – ich bin ausgebildete Restaurantfachfrau und habe als Fachwirtin im Betrieb meiner Eltern gearbeitet – wird vor allem von Frauen getragen. Dort und in vielen anderen Bereichen sehe ich, wie benachteiligt und vergleichsweise schlecht bezahlt sie sind. Auf die Arbeit im Bundestag fühle ich mich gut vorbereitet: In der Gastronomie wie in der Politik hat man hat viel mit Menschen zu tun und feste Arbeitszeiten gibt es nicht.

Berufe der Bundestagsabgeordneten: Josephine Ortleb (SPD) ist Restaurantfachfrau.
Josephine Ortleb (SPD) ist Restaurantfachfrau. SPD

Protokolle: Nicole Sagener 

© www.deutschland.de