Facts and figures about Germany

Form of government
Federal parliamentary democracy since 1949; German unity since 1990

80,8  million

Berlin, 3.4 million inhabitants

National flag
Three horizontal stripes in the colours black, red and gold

National emblem
Stylized eagle

National anthem
Third verse of August Heinrich Hoffmann von Fallersleben’s “Song of the Germans” sung to the melody of Joseph Haydn’s “Emperor’s Hymn”

National day
3 October, Day of German Unity

Federal President
Joachim Gauck, since 2012

Federal Chancellor
Angela Merkel (CDU), since 2005

Federal Government
Coalition government consisting of CDU/CSU and SPD

German Bundestag in Berlin comprising 631 members in four parliamentary groups (CDU/CSU, SPD, The Left Party and Alliance 90/The Greens)

Official language

Federal structure
The Federal Republic of Germany consists of 16 Länder or federal states (Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Hesse, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, North Rhine-Westphalia, Rhineland-Palatinate, Saarland, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Schleswig-Holstein and Thuringia).

The Bundesrat (upper house of parliament) is the representation of the Länder. It is involved in legislation and administration at national level.

Largest national economy in the European Union and the world’s fourth largest economy, with a gross domestic product (GDP) of 3,478 billion US dollars (2012)

Higher education institutions
370 universities, including some 200 universities of applied sciences, with a total of two million students

Cutting-edge research
Non-academic research is conducted by institutes of the Max Planck Society, the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, the Leibniz Association and the Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres.

Cultural institutions
6,200 museums, 820 theatres, 130 professional orchestras and 8,800 libraries

Last updated:  January 2014

Add comment

Log in to post comments