Skip to main content

State Parliaments in Germany

What tasks are the governmental agencies and offices responsible for in Germany and in Europe?

Parlament Kiel
© dpa

Berlin House of Representatives

Historical roots: The Berlin House of Representatives was first officially opened as the seat of the Prussian Parliament in 1899. The Berlin Senate has been meeting in the building near the Potsdam Square in the “Mitte” District since 1993. The decisions made by the Members of Parliament here are always of special interest to the public – as the country’s capital, Berlin serves as something of a forerunner for the rest of the Federal Republic.

Bavarian Parliament

High on the eastern bank of the Isar stands the Maximilianeum: the seat of the Bavarian Parliament (Bayerischer Landtag). The building, erected in 1874 under King Maximilian, is worth a visit, but to get acquainted with the work of the parliament, it is enough to visit the Internet.

Bremen Citizenry

In downtown Bremen, the representatives from Bremen and Bremerhaven meet once a month in plenary sessions. The Bremen Citizenry (Bremische Bürgerschaft) debates the legislation of Germany’s smallest state.

Hamburg State and City Parliament

Politics in Hamburg traditionally promote the greatest possible freedom in trade. The history of the Hamburg State and City Parliament can be followed back to 1410. Today, the 121 Members of Parliament in the magnificent Hamburg City Hall are busy working on legislation, the election of the Lord Mayor and the control of the Senate, among other things.

Hessian State Parliament

While roulette is played in Wiesbaden’s famous casino, the representatives of the people in the Hessian State Parliament (Hessischer Landtag) leave nothing to chance. The good of the citizens is debated here. You can watch live or explore the Parliament in virtual reality.

State Parliament of Brandenburg

Early 2014, new parliament buildings have been erected in the heart of the city, on the foundations of the old city palace. Once the Executive Committee, the Chamber and the committees have made the move, you will visit the state parliament on the “Old Market” (Alter Markt).

The Saarland State Parliament

Once every five years, the citizens of Saarland decide who will represent them in their state parliament. Their 51 MPs sit in Saarbrücken, where they discuss the politics in the small state bordering on France and Luxembourg. The first parliament in Saarland gathered under French protectorate in 1947; Saarland has belonged to the Federal Republic of Germany since 1957.

State Parliament of Mecklenburg West-Pomerania

Former German President Richard von Weizsäcker called Schwerin Castle the "most beautiful seat of government in Germany". The trademark of Mecklenburg West-Pomerania’s state capital was modeled after a French Renaissance castle.

State Parliament of Lower Saxony

The Leine Castle in Hanover is the seat of the State Parliament of Lower Saxony (Landtag Niedersachsen). On a virtual stroll through the castle you will get to know the parliament building and the work of the parliamentarians.

State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia

The architectural design of the State Parliament of North Rhine-Westphalia on the shores of the Rhine River in Düsseldorf conveys a sense of transparency. This open architecture symbolizes the idea of democratic openness. A glassed-in visitor elevator affords insight into the day-to-day work in the parliamentary building. The members of parliament here represent 18 million citizens in the German state with the greatest population density.

The Land Parliament of Rhineland-Palatinate

It is the federal state’s first address. In the assembly hall of the baroque palace, Rhineland-Palatinate’s 101 members of parliament (Landtag) decide the course of politics for the area between the Eifel, the Rhine and the Palatinate Forest. For anyone interested in politics or fascinated by architecture, the historical Deutschhaus in Mainz is well worth visiting.

State Parliament of Thuringia

The members of the Thuringian State Parliament all gather in the Chamber, the newest of the three parliament buildings in Erfurt. Locals also like to fondly call the administrative high-rise the “egg carton”.