Wunderbar together

The Year of German-American Friendship aims to encourage exchange and encounter – especially at a time of political differences.

About 1,000 events are taking place during the Year of German-American Friendship.
1,000 events are taking place during the Year of German-American Friendship. Janine Schmitz/photothek.net

“Wunderbar together” is the motto of the Year of German-American Friendship. From October 2018 until the end of 2019, over 1,000 events between the East and West coasts of the USA will show that the two countries are close and share many values and experiences. This certainly does not mean that the current tensions in transatlantic relations are being swept under the carpet, as the motto might suggest. However, differences at the political level have less influence on civil society than many think, says Germany’s ambassador to the USA, Emily Haber: “As current studies show, Germany continues to be perceived favourably in the United States, in fact to a growing extent – as an economic engine, a technology hub, and as a modern, tolerant, open-minded country.”

Find out more about the Year of German-American Friendship on the Wunderbar together website.

The two civil societies should engage in discussion and continue their long tradition of dialogue, especially in the face of current political differences. And this should not only take place in the big cities, but also in the so-called heartland, the rural regions in the centre of the United States. That is the core idea behind the large-scale initiative that the Federal Foreign Office is organising in conjunction with the Goethe-Institut and the Federation of German Industries (BDI).

Meet a German in 50 states

The Goethe-Institut, which is responsible for programme planning, has put together an impressive series of events with 300 project partners. They include, for example, four pop-up institutes that the Goethe-Institut will open in vacant buildings and stores in the cities of Minneapolis, Houston, Kansas City and Seattle. “We want to improvise,” explains Christoph Mücher, who is coordinating Year of German-American Friendship on behalf of the Goethe-Institut. “We’re fascinated by the question of what we can achieve in these cities with nothing other than an upbeat mindset, a little money and a lot of enthusiasm.” To be as present in as many places as possible, a so-called WanderbUS will tour about 60 cities throughout the country and the Fulbright Commission’s Meet-a-German programme will take young German “ambassadors” to schools in all 50 states of the Union.

The BDI is participating with a pop-up tour called Straight to Heart(land), which will give German businesses an opportunity to present themselves. It will also make clear how close the economic ties between the United States and Germany are. Insights into the digital future are being provided by the re:publica conference, which is taking part in the initiative with a digital road show in Los Angeles, Austin, New York, Portland and Detroit.

© www.deutschland.de

Wunderbar together

Das Deutschlandjahr in den USA lädt ein zu Austausch und Begegnung – gerade in Zeiten politischer Meinungsverschiedenheiten.

Mehr als 1.000 Events bietet das Programm des Deutschlandjahrs.
Mehr als 1.000 Events bietet das Programm des Deutschlandjahrs. Janine Schmitz/photothek.net

„Wunderbar together“ heißt das Motto des Deutschlandjahrs in den USA: Von Oktober 2018 bis Ende 2019 zeigen mehr als 1.000 Veranstaltungen zwischen Ost- und Westküste, dass sich die beiden Länder nah sind und viele Werte und Erfahrungen teilen. Das bedeutet keinesfalls, die aktuellen Spannungen in den transatlantischen Beziehungen außen vor zu lassen, wie das Motto nahe legen könnte. Doch hätten Differenzen auf politischer Ebene weniger Einfluss auf die Zivilgesellschaft als viele denken, sagt Deutschlands Botschafterin den USA Emily Haber: „Wie wir aus aktuellen Studien wissen, wird Deutschland in den USA nach wie vor und sogar in wachsendem Umfang positiv wahrgenommen – als Wirtschaftsstandort, als Technologiestandort, als modernes, tolerantes, offenes Land.“

Die beiden Zivilgesellschaften sollen ins Gespräch kommen und an die lange Tradition des gemeinsamen Dialogs anknüpfen, gerade angesichts aktueller politischer Meinungsverschiedenheiten. Und dies nicht nur in den großen Metropolen, sondern auch im sogenannten Heartland, den ländlichen Gegenden im Zentrum der USA. Das ist die Kernidee hinter der großangelegten Initiative, die das Auswärtige Amt gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut und dem Bundesverband der Deutschen Industrie (BDI) ausrichtet.

„Meet a German“ in 50 Bundesstaaten

Dafür hat das für die Programmplanung verantwortliche Goethe-Institut zusammen mit 300 Projektpartnern ein eindrucksvolles Veranstaltungsprogramm erarbeitet. Darunter etwa vier PopUp-Institute, die das Goethe-Institut in Minneapolis, Houston, Kansas City und Seattle in leerstehenden Gebäuden und Läden eröffnen will. „Wir wollen improvisieren“, erklärt Christoph Mücher, der das Deutschlandjahr für das Goethe-Institut in den USA koordiniert. „Uns fasziniert die Frage, was man in diesen Städten machen kann, wenn man mit nichts kommt als einem positiven Gefühl, ein bisschen Geld und Enthusiasmus.“ Um möglichst flächendeckend präsent zu sein, fährt ein sogenannter „WanderbUS“ rund 60 Städte im ganzen Land an, und das Programm „Meet-A-German“ der Fulbright Kommission bringt junge deutsche „Botschafter“ an Schulen in allen 50 Bundesstaaten.

Der BDI beteiligt sich mit einer PopUp-Tour namens „Straight to Heart(land)“, in dessen Rahmen deutsche Unternehmen Gelegenheit bekommen, sich zu präsentieren. Und es wird deutlich werden, wie eng die wirtschaftlichen Verflechtungen zwischen den USA und Deutschland sind. Einblicke in die digitale Zukunft gibt die Konferenz re:publica, die sich mit einer „digitalen Roadshow“ in Los Angeles, Austin, New York, Portland und Detroit beteiligt.

Mehr über das Programm erfahrt ihr auf der Website Wunderbar together

© www.deutschland.de