The german Federal Government

The Federal Chancellor and the federal ministers form the Federal Government, the cabinet.

Federal Chancellery
Federal Chancellery dpa

Alongside the Chancellor’s power to set policy guidelines, within these general parameters ministers on principle run their ministries independently; the collective principle also applies, whereby the Federal Government settles disputes by majority decision. The federal cabinet consists of 14 ministers and the Head of the Federal Chancellery. The federal ministries are the highest federal authorities for the relevant departments. The Basic Law assigns the Chancellor a special role: “The Federal Chancellor shall determine and be responsible for the general guidelines of policy”. The Federal Chancellery and the federal ministries employ around 18,000 staff members. The Federal Foreign Office and the Federal Ministry of Defence are among the ministries with large payrolls. Eight ministries are based in Berlin, six in the Federal City of Bonn. All the ministries maintain offices in both cities.

Federal Ministries

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Federal Foreign Office

Federal Ministry of the Interior

Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection

Federal Ministry of Finance

Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture

Federal Ministry of Defence

Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth

Federal Ministry of Health

Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure

Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development