Water for the crane

Paintings, photographs and films: art against climate change? These Hamburg-based art projects raise awareness about water as a resource.

Art installation in the far north by Barbara Dombrowski
Art installation in the far north by Barbara Dombrowski Barbara Dombrowski

Walls of Water: wall painting on the right to water

The painting of a girl holding out a cup of water to a crested crane, the national emblem of Uganda, decorates the wall of a multistorey building in Kampala. It was painted by international street artists who had travelled to the East African country for the Walls of Water project organised by Viva con Agua. With support from the Federal Foreign Office in Berlin, they painted walls with local children to raise awareness about hygiene and the importance of clean water. Viva con Agua is a non-profit organisation that was founded in Hamburg in 2006. It supports access to basic sanitation with art, music and sports projects worldwide.

#Art-4-Future: portraits in front of melting glaciers

Hamburg-based photographer Barbara Dombrowski has now been focusing on climate change for almost 20 years. Instead of documenting disasters, however, she presents impressive landscapes and their inhabitants, who are especially suffering from the impacts of climate change. One night she had the idea of hanging her pictures on an iceberg. That’s why one of her artworks shows portraits of indigenous people from the Amazonian rainforest in front of a glacier in Greenland. The regions that Dombrowski has chosen for this work could hardly be more different. However, climate change means they have much in common. After all, “what happens in one place has consequences elsewhere,” says Dombrowski.

DEEPWAVE Film Festival: presenting the endangered beauty of the deep sea in short films

Complete darkness, icy cold and enormous pressure – the deep-sea environment seems life-threatening and remains largely unresearched even today. And yet over half of the Earth’s surface is covered with waters that are deeper than 200 metres. The short films at the DEEPWAVE Film Festival for the Protection of the Oceans show fascinating creatures that live beneath the surface of the water. Other topics are endangered coral reefs and the problematical effects of deep-sea mining. The event’s organiser is DEEPWAVE, the marine conservation organisation founded by a Hamburg-based deep-sea biologist in 2003. The film festival takes place in Hamburg on 8 May 2020.

© www.deutschland.de

You would like to receive regular information about Germany? Subscribe here:

Wasser für den Kranich

Gemälde, Fotos und Filme: Kunst gegen den Klimawandel? Diese Kunstprojekte aus Hamburg rücken die Ressource Wasser ins Bewusstsein.

Kunstinstallation im hohen Norden von Barbara Dombrowski.
Kunstinstallation im hohen Norden von Barbara Dombrowski. Barbara Dombrowski

Walls of Water: Wandgemälde für das Recht auf Wasser

Ein Mädchen hält einem Kronenkranich, dem Wappentier Ugandas, einen Becher Wasser hin. Das Gemälde ziert eine mehrstöckige Hauswand in Kampala. Gemalt haben es internationale Straßenkünstler, die für das Projekt „Walls of Water“ des Vereins Viva con Agua in das ostafrikanische Land gereist sind. Gefördert vom Auswärtigen Amt in Berlin bemalten sie mit Kindern Wände, um über Hygiene und die Bedeutung von sauberem Wasser aufzuklären. Die Non-Profit-Organisation Viva con Agua wurde 2006 in Hamburg gegründet und setzt sich mit Projekten in Kunst, Musik und Sport weltweit für den Zugang zu sanitärer Grundversorgung ein.

#Art-4-Future: Porträts vor schmelzenden Gletschern

Seit fast 20 Jahren befasst sich die Hamburger Fotografin Barbara Dombrowski mit dem Klimawandel. Doch anstatt Katastrophen zu dokumentieren, inszeniert sie beeindruckende Landschaften und deren Bewohner, die besonders unter den Folgen des Klimawandels leiden. Eines Nachts hatte sie die Vision, ihre Bilder an einen Eisberg zu hängen. So kommt es, dass eines ihrer Kunstwerke Porträts von Ureinwohnern des Amazonas-Regenwaldes vor einem Gletscher in Grönland zeigt. Die Regionen, die sich Dombrowski für ihre Aktion ausgesucht hat, könnten nicht gegensätzlicher sein. Doch durch den Klimawandel sind sie eng verbunden. Denn „was an einem Ort geschieht, hat an einem anderen Ort Auswirkungen“, sagt Dombrowski.

DEEPWAVE Filmfestival: Die bedrohte Schönheit der Tiefsee im Kurzfilm

Vollkommene Dunkelheit, Kälte und ein gewaltiger Druck – die lebensfeindlich wirkende Tiefsee ist bis heute in weiten Teilen unerforscht. Dabei ist mehr als die Hälfte der Erdoberfläche von Meer bedeckt, das tiefer als 200 Meter ist. Beim DEEPWAVE Filmfestival zum Schutz der Meere zeigen Kurzfilme faszinierende Kreaturen, die tief unter der Wasseroberfläche leben. Weitere Themen sind bedrohte Korallenriffe und die problematischen Auswirkungen des Tiefseebergbaus. Veranstalter ist die Meeresschutzorganisation DEEPWAVE, die 2003 von einem Hamburger Tiefseebiologen gegründet wurde. Das Filmfestival findet am 8. Mai 2020 in Hamburg statt.

© www.deutschland.de

Du möchtest regelmäßig Informationen über Deutschland bekommen? Hier geht’s zur Anmeldung: