Germany history up to 1945

Burg Eltz
From the early Middle Ages and the era of religious schism to the catastrophes of the twentieth century and the founding of the Federal Republic of Germany: the various stages of German history

The History of Germany

These links can be used to research historical developments and documents on the history of Germany from its beginnings up until the present day.

Journey through history: you shouldn’t miss out on these seven World Heritage Sites in Germany.

Eighth century

The rise of the Carolingians

This century saw the Kingdom of the Franks expanded from the territory of modern-day France. Charlemagne’s subjugation of many Germanic tribes, especially the mighty Saxons, since 768 was the high point.

Ninth century

800 Charlemagne

The ruler of the Kingdom of the Franks was crowned Emperor of the Romans by Pope Leo III in the year 800. Charlemagne, who died in Aachen in 814, was later named the “Father of Europe”. That said, Europe is considerably larger than Charlemagne’s realm. Looking back, he is considered more European than German or French.

Karl der Große
picture alliance/dpa

Tenth century

962 Otto I, Otto the Great

The coronation of Otto as emperor marked the start of the “Holy Roman Empire” ruled by German emperors who followed the traditions of the Ancient Roman Empire. Like that of the Carolingians, the Roman Empire had no capital, its rulers travelling constantly through the empire with their families and imperial household. They would normally reside in palaces built especially for this purpose, which served as the temporary seat of government.

Kaiserkrone
picture-alliance/IMAGNO/Trumler

Put your knowledge to the test

Eleventh century

1024–1125/1138–1268 Salians and Staufers

The dynasties of the Salians, who built Speyer Cathedral, and the Staufers had considerable influence on the fortunes of Europe. One of the most important Roman-German emperors of the Middle Ages was Frederick II, who lived for most of the time in Sicily. Contemporaries named this cosmopolitan and highly educated emperor “stupor mundi”, the “wonder of the world”.

Dom zu Speyer
Rudi Ernst/Shutterstock

Twelfth century

1179 Hildegard of Bingen

An abbess and healer, not to mention one of the most important women of the German Middle Ages, Hildegard died in Bingen am Rhein at the age of 81. The monastery she founded was destroyed in the Thirty Years’ War and was later rebuilt.

Bingen
picture alliance/imageBROKER

Thirteenth century

1248 Cologne Cathedral

This century was characterised by the fall of the Staufers and the loss of power of the emperors. Secular and ecclesiastical princes became increasingly powerful. In 1248, the foundation stone for one of Germany’s most famous buildings was laid: Cologne Cathedral.

Kölner Dom
picture alliance/blickwinkel

Fourteenth century

1356 Hanseatic League

The Hanse, a league of up to 72 free towns with a further 130 allied towns, was to all intents and purposes a major power in the Baltic and North Sea regions for 100 years. It was based on trade, which led to many towns – including Lübeck, its main centre, but also Hamburg, Bremen and Cologne – becoming rich.

Holstentor Lübeck
EKH-Pictures/stock.adobe.com

Fifteenth century

1452–1454 Letterpress printing

Johannes Gutenberg (um 1400–1468), the inventor of letter press printing with moveable type, was the first to print the Bible in Mainz in a print run of roughly 180 copies. Previously, all manuscripts had to be written by hand, which meant that they were very expensive and accessible to only few people.

 

Buchdruck Gutenberg
Alexey Pavluts/stock.adobe.com

1493 Rise of the House of Habsburg

The regency of Maximilian I marked the start of the rise of the House of Habsburg. For centuries, it was one of the dominant noble dynasties in Central Europe, supplying most of the emperors and kings of the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation (thus named since the end of the 15th century) and, from 1504–1700, the kings of Spain. The Habsburgers are named after their family home, the small Castle of Habsburg in what today is the Swiss canton of Aargau.

Sixteenth century

1517 Reformation and religious schism

The era of the Reformation began when Martin Luther (1483–1546) published his 95 theses in Wittenberg, opposing the Catholic Church’s system of indulgences. His first translation of the Bible into German made the text accessible to those who did not speak Latin.

Martin Luther
picture alliance/Heritage-Images

Seventeenth century

1618–1648 Thirty Years‘ War

Both a war of religion and a conflict between states, the Thirty Years‘ War ended with the Peace of Westphalia, which recognised the Catholic, Lutheran and Reformist faiths as being equal. The war, which saw alternating alliances between the emperor and the Catholic League, with the Protestant Union on the other side, destroyed large parts of Central Europe, and especially the “Holy Roman Empire”. In some parts of southern Germany up to two thirds of the population lost their lives.

Westfälischer Friede
picture alliance/akg-images

Eighteenth century

1740–1786 Frederick II, Frederick the Great

During the reign of Frederick II of Prussia, an aesthete and military commander, Prussia rose to become a major European power. His rule is considered exemplary of the age of “enlightened absolutism”. At the same time, however, many people left their homeland. Encouraged by the rulers there, many Germans emigrated to the East in the second half of the eighteenth century: to Hungary, Romania and Russia.

It was only the fall of Prussia and the grand coalition against Napoleon in 1813 that resulted in a great flood of national songs, poems and caricatures.

Ute Planert, historian
Friedrich der Große
ArTo/stock.adobe.com

Nineteenth century

1803 Secularisation and national consciousness

The secularisation of ecclesiastical states and the dissolution of free imperial cities by the Imperial Recess heralded the end of the “Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation”. The French Revolution brought many new ideas, also to Germany – such as the Republican values, and also the idea of national resistance to the French occupation.

Erst der Niedergang Preußens und die große Koalition gegen Napoleon 1813 brachten eine breite Flut nationaler Lieder, Gedichte und Karikaturen hervor.

Ute Planert, Historikerin
Schlacht bei Hohenlinden
Emilio Ereza/stock.adobe.com

1848/49 March Revolution

The “German Revolution” began in the Grand Duchy of Baden. It quickly spilled over to the remaining states of the German Confederation and led to the first German national assembly, which met at St. Paul’s Church in Frankfurt. The crushing of the revolution, coupled with poverty and a lack of prospects, resulted in around one million Germans emigrating between 1850 and 1855, by far the majority to the USA.

 

Video

For the Germans there were always two sides to the German Question: that of territory and that of constitution, or to be more precise, the question of the relationship between unity and freedom.

1871 Proclamation of the German Empire

On 18 January, while the Franco-Prussian War was still ongoing, William I was proclaimed German Emperor in Versailles. The (second) German Empire was a constitutional monarchy. Shortly after the Empire was established, an economic upswing ensued, known as the “founders’ years”. As a result, emigration also declined sharply.

Twentieth century

From the First World War to the present: Europe in the focus of history.

1914–1918 First World War

Emperor William II isolated Germany in foreign policy terms and led it to the catastrophe of the First World War, which cost nearly 15 million lives. The Treaty of Versailles was signed in June 1919.

1918 marked the end of the First World War. Facts and figures about the seminal catastrophe of the twentieth century.

Fenster in Kathedrale Reims

100 years: end of the First World War

How the “seminal catastrophe of Europe” continues to have effect: triggers, consequences and important insights for the future.

Video

It was not until October 1918, when there could no longer be any doubt about Germany’s military defeat, that the decisive change to the constitution occurred, making the Reich Chancellor dependent on the confidence of the Reichstag.

How the First World War continues to this day: the political scientist Herfried Münkler discusses lessons learned from the mistakes of the past.

1918–1933 Weimar Republic

On 9 November, the Social Democrat Philipp Scheidemann declared the Republic and Emperor William II abdicated. Elections to the National Assembly were held on 19 January 1919. There was considerable opposition to the new Republic from the start, both from the right and from the left. Thanks to the support of the army and a large part of the business world, the right-wing enemies of democracy became ever stronger.

Farewell to the German question: Looking back at the Weimar Republic from 1919 to 1933.

1933 National Socialism

Adolf Hitler’s NSDAP became the strongest party in the Reichstag elections on 6 November 1932, winning 33.1 percent of the vote, and on 30 January 1933 Adolf Hitler became Reich Chancellor. The “Enabling Act” marked the start of the Nazi dictatorship.

Hitler did not come to power on the back of a major election victory, but he would not have become Reich Chancellor in January 1933 had he not been the leader of the strongest party.

1939 Start of the Second World War

Hitler unleashed the Second World War when he invaded Poland on 1 September 1939. The war cost 60 million people their lives and ravaged large parts of Europe and East Asia. Six million Jews became the victims of the Nazi extermination policy.

Zweiter Weltkrieg
picture alliance/akg-images

Find out here how Germany keeps the memory of the Holocaust victims alive and is committed to reconciliation:

Wie Deutschland die Erinnerung an den Holocaust wach hält

Never forget!

How Germany keeps the memory of the Holocaust victims alive and is committed to reconciliation.

Stauffenberg’s attempt to assisinate Hitler on 20 July: Resistance to the Nazi regime took place on many levels. We present an overview.

Courage and resistance

To mark the 75th anniversary of Stauffenberg’s attempt to assassinate Hitler on 20 July: resistance to the Nazi regime took place on many levels. We present an overview.

1945 End of the Second World War

The surrender of the German Wehrmacht on 7/9 May 1945 marked the end of the Second World War in Europe, and with it a period of inconceivable suffering. The Allies divided Germany into four occupation zones and Berlin into four sectors.

1948 Berlin blockade

The introduction of the deutschmark in the western occupation zones prompted the Soviet Union to block the access routes into West Berlin on 24 June 1948. The Allies responded by setting up an airlift to supply the population in West Berlin until September 1949.

Rosinenbomber
Airliners.net/Ian Haskell

1949 Founding of the Federal Republic of Germany

On 23 May 1949, the Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany was introduced. The first elections to the Bundestag – the country’s parliament – were held on 14 August. Konrad Adenauer (CDU) became chancellor. On 7 October 1949, the legal separation of East and West was completed when the constitution of the GDR entered into force. Germany’s separation only ended when the Berlin Wall fell in 1989 and Germany was reunified in 1990.

After 1945, only one part of Germany had a chance to give democracy a second go, namely West Germany. https://www.deutschland.de/en/topic/politics/the-two-german-states

Interested in Germany history after 1949? You’ll find plenty of information here:

Deutsche Geschichte

German history after 1945

Foundation of the German empire, world wars, division and reunification – Germany’s road to unity and freedom.

Deutsche Geschichte bis 1945

Burg Eltz
Vom frühen Mittelalter über das Zeitalter der Glaubensspaltung und die Katastrophen des 20. Jahrhunderts bis zur Gründung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland: Etappen deutscher Geschichte

Reise durch die Geschichte: Diese sieben Welterbestätten in Deutschland solltet ihr euch nicht entgehen lassen.

8. Jahrhundert

Aufstieg der Karolinger

Das Jahrhundert steht im Zeichen der Ausdehnung des Frankenreiches vom Gebiet des heutigen Frankreich her. Den Höhepunkt findet es in der Unterwerfung vieler germanischer Stämme, vor allem der mächtigen Sachsen, durch Karl den Großen seit 768.

9. Jahrhundert

800 Karl der Große

Der Herrscher des Fränkischen Reiches wird im Jahr 800 von Papst Leo III. zum Römischen Kaiser gekrönt. Später wird der Karolinger, der 814 in Aachen stirbt, zum „Vater Europas“ erklärt. Allerdings ist Europa um einiges größer als Karls Reich. Er gilt in der Rückschau eher als Europäer  denn als Deutscher oder Franzose.

Karl der Große
picture alliance/dpa

10. Jahrhundert

962 Otto I., der Große

Mit der Kaiserkrönung Ottos beginnt die Geschichte des „Heiligen Römischen Reichs“ unter der Herrschaft deutscher Kaiser, die sich in die Tradition des antiken römischen Reiches stellten. Das Römische Reich kennt ebenso wir das der Karolinger keine Hauptstadt. Die Herrscher reisen unentwegt mit Familie und Hofstaat durch das Reich. Wohnung nehmen sie dabei meistens in zu diesem Zweck errichteten Pfalzen, die als zeitweiliger Regierungssitz dienen.

Kaiserkrone
picture-alliance/IMAGNO/Trumler

Teste dein Wissen

11. Jahrhundert

1024–1125/1138–1268 Salier und Staufer

Die Dynastien der Salier, Erbauer des Doms zu Speyer, und Staufer prägen die Geschicke Europas. Einer der bedeutendsten römisch-deutschen Kaiser des Mittelalters ist Friedrich II., der die meiste Zeit in Sizilien lebt. Der weltoffene und hochgebildete Kaiser wird von Zeitgenossen „stupor mundi“ genannt, das „Staunen der Welt“.

Dom zu Speyer
Rudi Ernst/Shutterstock

12. Jahrhundert

1179 Hildegard von Bingen

Die Äbtissin und Heilkundige, eine der bedeutendsten Frauen des deutschen Mittelalters, stirbt 81-jährig bei Bingen am Rhein. Das von ihr gegründete Kloster wurde im Dreißigjährigen Krieg zerstört und später wieder aufgebaut.

Bingen
picture alliance/imageBROKER

13. Jahrhundert

1248 Kölner Dom

Politisch ist das Jahrhundert durch den Niedergang der Staufer und den Machtverlust der Kaiser geprägt. Weltliche und kirchliche Fürsten werden immer mächtiger. 1248 wird der Grundstein für eines der bekanntesten Bauwerke Deutschlands gelegt: den Kölner Dom.

Kölner Dom
picture alliance/blickwinkel

14. Jahrhundert

1356 Hanse

Die Hanse, ein Zusammenschluss von zeitweise 72 freien Städten mit weiteren 130 verbündeten Städten, wird für 100 Jahre faktisch zu einer Großmacht in Ost- und Nordsee. Grundlage ist der Handel, durch den viele Städte wie ihr Hauptort Lübeck, aber auch Hamburg, Bremen und Köln reich werden.

Holstentor Lübeck
EKH-Pictures/stock.adobe.com

15. Jahrhundert

1452–1454 Buchdruck

Der Erfinder des Buchdrucks mit beweglichen Lettern, Johannes Gutenberg (um 1400–1468), druckt in Mainz erstmals die Bibel in einer Auflage von etwa 180 Exemplaren. Zuvor mussten alle Schriftstücke mit der Hand geschrieben werden und waren deswegen sehr teuer und nur wenigen Menschen zugänglich.

Buchdruck Gutenberg
Alexey Pavluts/stock.adobe.com

1493 Aufstieg des Hauses Habsburg

Mit der Regentschaft Maximilians I. beginnt der Aufstieg des Hauses Habsburg. Es ist über Jahrhunderte eines der dominierenden Adelsgeschlechter in Mitteleuropa und stellt die meisten Kaiser und Könige des (seit Ende des 15. Jahrhunderts so genannten) Heiligen Römischen Reiches Deutscher Nation und von 1504–1700 die Könige von Spanien. Benannt sind die Habsburger nach ihrem Stammsitz, dem kleine Schloss Habsburg im heutigen Schweizer Kanton Aargau.

16. Jahrhundert

1517 Reformation und Glaubensspaltung

Das Zeitalter der Reformation beginnt, als Martin Luther (1483–1546) in Wittenberg seine 95 Thesen gegen das Ablasswesen in der katholischen Kirche öffentlich macht. Seine erste Übersetzung der Bibel ins Deutsche machte den Text auch nicht lateinisch sprechenden Menschen zugänglich.

Martin Luther
picture alliance/Heritage-Images

17. Jahrhundert

1618–1648 Dreißigjähriger Krieg

Zugleich Religionskrieg und Staatenkonflikt, endet der Dreißigjährige Krieg mit dem Westfälischen Frieden: Die katholische, lutherische und reformierte Konfession werden als gleichberechtigt anerkannt. Der Krieg mit wechselnden Allianzen zwischen dem Kaiser und der Katholischen Liga und auf der anderen Seite der Protestantischen Union verwüstete weite Teile Mitteleuropas, insbesondere des „Heiligen Römischen Reichs“. In Teilen Süddeutschlands starben bis zu zwei Drittel der Bevölkerung.

Westfälischer Friede
picture alliance/akg-images

18. Jahrhundert

1740–1786 Friedrich II., der Große

Während der Regierungszeit Friedrichs II. von Preußen, Schöngeist und Feldherr, steigt Preußen zur europäischen Großmacht auf. Seine Herrschaft gilt als exemplarisch für das Zeitalter des „aufgeklärten Absolutismus“. Gleichzeitig verlassen jedoch viele Menschen ihre Heimat. Ermutigt von den dortigen Herrschern wandern in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts viele Deutsche nach Osten aus: nach Ungarn, Rumänien und Russland.

Friedrich der Große
ArTo/stock.adobe.com

19. Jahrhundert

1803 Säkularisierung und Nationalbewusstsein

Die Säkularisation geistlicher Herrschaften und die Auflösung freier Reichstädte durch den Reichsdeputationshauptschluss leiten das Ende des „Heiligen Römischen Reichs Deutscher Nation“ ein. Die Französische Revolution bringt viele neue Gedanken auch nach Deutschland – zum einen die republikanischen Werte, zum anderen aber auch die Idee eines nationalen Widerstands gegen die französische Besatzung.

Erst der Niedergang Preußens und die große Koalition gegen Napoleon 1813 brachten eine breite Flut nationaler Lieder, Gedichte und Karikaturen hervor.

Ute Planert, Historikerin
Schlacht bei Hohenlinden
Emilio Ereza/stock.adobe.com

1848/49 Märzrevolution

Ihren Anfang nimmt die „Deutsche Revolution“ im Großherzogtum Baden. In kurzer Zeit greift sie auf die übrigen Staaten des Deutschen Bundes über und führt zur ersten deutschen Nationalversammlung, die in der Frankfurter Paulskirche tagt. Die Niederschlagung der Revolution, Armut und Perspektivlosigkeit führt dazu, dass zwischen 1850 und 1855 etwa eine Millionen Deutsche auswanderten, der weitaus größte Teil in die USA

Video

Für die Deutschen hatte die deutsche Frage immer zwei Seiten: Sie war eine Frage des Gebiets und eine Frage der Verfassung, genauer gesagt: des Verhältnisses von Einheit und Freiheit.

1871 Reichsgründung

Am 18. Januar wird noch während des Deutsch-Französischen Krieges Wilhelm I. in Versailles zum Deutschen Kaiser proklamiert. Das (zweite) Deutsche Reich ist eine konstitutionelle Monarchie. Kurz nach der Reichsgründung kommt es zum Wirtschaftsaufschwung, den sogenannten Gründerjahren. Damit geht auch die Auswanderung stark zurück.

1871: Die Reichsgründung

Das zweite Deutsche Reich war eine konstitutionelle Monarchie. Der Reichstag wurde als gewählte Volksvertretung – mit eingeschränkten Rechten – neu geschaffen.

20. Jahrhundert

Vom Ersten Weltkrieg bis in die Gegenwart: Europa im Brennglas der Geschichte.

1914–1918 Erster Weltkrieg

Kaiser Wilhelm II. isoliert Deutschland außenpolitisch und führt es in die Katastrophe des Ersten Weltkrieges, der fast 15 Millionen Menschenleben fordert. Im Juni 1919 wird der Friedensvertrag von Versailles unterzeichnet.

1918 endete der Erste Weltkrieg. Zahlen und Fakten zur Urkatastrophe des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Fenster in Kathedrale Reims

100 Jahre Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs

Wie die „Urkatastrophe Europas“ nachwirkt: Auslöser, Folgen und wichtige Erkenntnisse für die Zukunft.

Video

Erst im Oktober 1918, als es an der militärischen Niederlage Deutschlands keinen Zweifel mehr gibt, erfolgte die entscheidende Verfassungsänderung, die den Reichskanzler vom Vertrauen des Reichstags abhängig macht.

Der Erste Weltkrieg

Erst im Oktober 1918, als es an der militärischen Niederlage Deutschlands im Ersten Weltkrieg keinen Zweifel mehr gab, erfolgte die entscheidende Verfassungsänderung, die den Reichskanzler vom Vertrauen des Reichstags abhängig machte.

So wirkt der Erste Weltkrieg bis heute nach: Politikwissenschaftler Herfried Münkler benennt Lehren aus den Fehlern der Vergangenheit.

1918–1933 Weimarer Republik

Am 9. November ruft der Sozialdemokrat Philipp Scheidemann die Republik aus; Kaiser Wilhelm II. dankt ab. Am 19. Januar 1919 finden Wahlen zur Nationalversammlung statt. Von Anfang an gibt es starke Vorbehalte gegen die neue Republik von rechts, aber auch von links. Dank der Unterstützung aus Armee und weiten Teil der Wirtschaft werden die rechten Feinde der Demokratie immer stärker.

Abschied von der deutschen Frage: Rückblick auf die Weimarer Republik von 1919 bis 1933.

1933 Nationalsozialismus

Die NSDAP Adolf Hitlers wird bei den Reichstagswahlen am 6. November 1932 stärkste Partei mit 33,1 Prozent der Stimmen, am 30. Januar 1933 wird Adolf Hitler Reichskanzler. Mit dem „Ermächtigungsgesetz“ beginnt die NS-Diktatur.

Hitler ist nicht in Folge eines großen Wahlsieges an die Macht gelangt, aber er wäre nicht Reichskanzler geworden, hätte er im Januar 1933 nicht an der Spitze der stärksten Partei gestanden.

Der Nationalsozialismus

Hitler ist nicht im Gefolge eines großen Wahlsieges an die Macht gelangt, aber er wäre nicht Reichskanzler geworden, hätte er im Januar 1933 nicht an der Spitze der stärksten Partei gestanden.

1939 Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges

Hitler entfesselt am 1. September 1939 mit dem Überfall auf Polen den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Er kostet 60 Millionen Menschen das Leben und verwüstet weite Teile Europas und Ostasiens. Der nationalsozialistischen Vernichtungspolitik fallen sechs Millionen Jüdinnen und Juden zum Opfer.

Zweiter Weltkrieg
picture alliance/akg-images

Hier erfährst du, wie Deutschland die Erinnerung an den Holocaust wach hält und sich für Versöhnung engagiert:

Wie Deutschland die Erinnerung an den Holocaust wach hält

Niemals vergessen!

Wie Deutschland die Erinnerung an den Holocaust wach hält und sich für Versöhnung engagiert.

Stauffenberg-Attentat am 20. Juli: Der Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus war vielschichtig. Ein Überblick.

Mut und Gegenwehr

Zum 75. Jahrestag des Stauffenberg-Attentats am 20. Juli: Der Widerstand gegen den Nationalsozialismus war vielschichtig. Ein Überblick.

1945 Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges

Mit der Kapitulation der deutschen Wehrmacht am 7./9. Mai 1945 endet der Zweite Weltkrieg in Europa und damit eine Zeit unfassbaren Leidens. Die Siegermächte teilen Deutschland in vier Besatzungszonen und Berlin in vier Sektoren.

1948 Berlin-Blockade

Die Einführung der D-Mark in den westlichen Besatzungszonen nimmt die Sowjetunion zum Anlass, am 24. Juni 1948 die Zufahrtswege nach West-Berlin zu sperren. Die Alliierten antworten mit einer „Luftbrücke“, über die bis September 1949 die Bevölkerung in West-Berlin versorgt wird.

Rosinenbomber
Airliners.net/Ian Haskell

1949 Gründung der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Am 23. Mai 1949 wird das Grundgesetz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn verkündet. Am 14. August finden die ersten Bundestagswahlen statt. Konrad Adenauer (CDU) wird Bundeskanzler. Am 7. Oktober 1949 vollzieht sich auch rechtlich die Trennung zwischen Ost und West mit der Inkraftsetzung der Verfassung der DDR. Die deutsche Teilung wird erst 1989 mit dem Fall der Mauer und der Deutschen Einheit 1990 überwunden.

Eine zweite Chance in Sachen Demokratie erhielt nach 1945 nur ein Teil Deutschlands: der westliche.

Euch interessiert die deutsche Geschichte nach 1949? Hier werdet ihr fündig:

Deutsche Geschichte

Deutsche Geschichte nach 1945

Reichsgründung, Weltkriege, Teilung und Wiedervereinigung – Deutschlands Weg zu Einheit und Freiheit.